UNIZIK List of Approved Courses


UNIZIK stands for Nnamdi Azikiwe University Awka Nigeria with nine (9) faculties and over 50 courses approved the National Universities Commission (NUC).
Faculty of Arts
  1. Mass Communication
  2. Theatre Arts
  3. English
  4. History & International Relations

Faculty of Agriculture

    Agricultural Economics and Extension
    Animal Science and Technology
    Crop Science and Horticulture
    Fisheries and Aquaculture
    Food Science and Technology
    Forestry and Wildlife Management
    Soil Science and Land Resources Management.

Faculty of Biosciences

    Department of Applied Biochemistry
    Department of Applied Microbiology and Brewing
    Department of Parasitology and Entomology
    Department of Zoology

Faculty of Education

a. Adult Education
b. Human Kinetics and Health Education
c. Guidance and Counselling
d. Science Education
e. Education Management and Policy
f. Early Childhood and Primary Education
g. Library and Information Science
h. Education Foundations

Faculty of Engineering

  1.     Department of Agriculture and Bio-resources Engineering
  2.     Department of Chemical Engineering
  3.     Department of Civil Engineering
  4.     Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering
  5.     Department of Electrical Engineering
  6.     Department of Industrial/Production Engineering
  7.     Department of Mechanical Engineering
  8.     Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  9.     Department of Polymer and Textile Engineering

Faculty of Environmental Sciences

 a. Architecture
b. Building
c. Environmental Management
d. Estate Management
e. Fine and Applied Arts
f. Geography and Meteorology
g. Quantity Surveying
h. Surveying and Geo-informatics

Faculty of Medicine

A medical student spends at least 6 years in the medical school to graduate as a medical doctor with Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) degree. Following this, the graduate does a twelve-month uninterrupted clinical internship (House Job) before being licensed fully by the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN) to practise medicine. The housemanship is in the four clinical areas — Surgery, Intemal Medicine, Paediatrics and Obstetrics and Gynaecology. This internship structure channels the young doctor through clinical medicine. Other areas are: clinical practice, laboratory medicine, basic medical sciences, health system management, public health and international agencies, emerging fields.

Faculty of Law
  1.     Department of Commercial and Property Law
  2.     Department of International Law and Jurisprudence
  3.     Department of Public and Private Law

 Faculty of Health Sciences and Technology

a. Medical Laboratory Science
b. Medical Rehabilitation
c. Nursing Science
d. Radiography and Radiological Science