Nigeria Democracy at 20 - Felix Omoko

Felix Ileh Omoko
Nigeria is the richest black nation in the world and will be celebrating her 20 years of democracy rule from 1999 to 2019. Nigeria democracy came into being on May 29 1999 under the former head of state Gen. Abdulsalami Abubakar handing power to Chief Olusegun Obasanjo.

Since then, the government of Nigeria has been trending greatness under democracy rule which has witnessed several administrative leadership and infrastructural development.

Nigeria has witnessed four major administration since 1999 till date ranging from Chief Olusegun Obasanjo (1999 - 2007), Umaru Musa Yar'Adua (2007 - 2010), Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (2010 - 2015) and Muhammadu Buhari (2015 - 2019).

The Obasanjo's administration ushered Nigerians into the telecommunication sector in the early 2000 and telecom is one of the main stay of the economy today.

The Yar'Adua's administration witnessed the amnesty era of the Niger Delta region. He granted amnesty to the Niger Delta militants.

The Jonathan's administration  consolidated on the Yar'Adua administration by completing ongoing projects before his demise on 5th May, 2010. His administration witnessed the Boko Haram era in the Northern part of the country and the introduction of BVN in the banking sector.

The Buhari's administration introduced Nigerians into the highest level of inflation between 2015 and and 2017. He also introduced the NPOWER programme for the youth, where about 500 graduates are currently receiving N30,000 stipends on a monthly basis. 

He also signed the new minimum wage of N30,000 into law.

We are hopeful that the inauguration of President Buhari for second tenure (2019 - 2023) will bring more dividends of democracy to Nigerians.

God bless Nigeria.