Federal University Wukari


The Federal University Wukari was established in 2011 by the Jonathan 's administration with about 50 approved list of degree awarding courses for undergraduate and post graduate programes. The university is located in Taraba State.

Historical Background
As a way of addressing the critical problem of qualitative access to tertiary education, the Federal Ministry of Education decided to implement the extant government policy of equitable educational development of Nigeria, by establishing federal tertiary institutions in every State of the Federation, where they do not currently exist. To this end, a memorandum was presented by the Minister of State, Education to the Federal Executive Council, at its 39th Meeting held on Wednesday, 10th November, 2010, requesting for the establishment of 44 additional tertiary institutions nationwide, to address the twin challenges of access and equitable educational development of States in the Federation.
Council, in its wisdom, however, approved the establishment of twelve new universities on the basis of equity and access. Nine universities were approved for take-off under Phase I of this initiative.
Sequel to the above approval, a twelve-member Committee, under the chairmanship of Prof. Julius A. Okojie, Executive Secretary, National Universities Commission, was inaugurated by the Honourable Minister of State, Education, Olorogun Kenneth O. Gbagi on Thursday, 11th November, 2010, to among other assignments, develop the modalities for the location and take-off of these universities.
The report of the Technical Committee was presented to the Honourable Minister on Monday, 15th November, 2010, in compliance with the ministerial deadline for the submission of the report. For the effective take-off of the nine universities drawn from all the geo-political zones, the Honourable Minister of Education accompanied by the Director (Tertiary Education) Federal Ministry of Education and the Executive Secretaries of NUC and ETF, visited the identified States. With the support of the State Governments, permanent as well as take-off sites were identified.
These were subsequently approved by the Federal Executive Council. Council also approved the sum of N1.5 billion for each University to be sourced from the Education Trust Fund (ETF).
The Federal University Wukari, Taraba State, was one of the nine universities approved for take-off under Phase I of that initiative. Mr. President, His Excellency Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR, in his capacity as Visitor to the nine newly established federal universities, appointed Vice-Chancellors and Registrars for the universities on February 7, 2011. The nominees were inducted into office by the Honourable Minister of Education, in the conference room of the Federal Ministry of Education Headquarters, Abuja, on Wednesday, 9 February 2011.
Year established: 2011
FUWUKARI Courses and Programmes
  1. Accountancy/Accounting
  2. Adult And Continuous Education:
  3. African Traditional Religion
  4. Agricultural Engineering
  5. Agriculture
  6. Applied Physics
  7. Banking And Finance
  8. Biochemistry
  9. Biology
  10. Business Administration
  11. Chemical Engineering:
  12. Chemistry
  13. Christian Religious Studies
  14. Computer Engineering:
  15. Computer Science
  16. Economics
  17. Economics
  18. Education And Biology
  19. Education And Chemistry:
  20. Education And Mathematics
  21. Education And Physics
  22. English Language And Literature
  23. Fisheries And Aquaculture:
  24. Food Science And Technology
  25. Forestry And Wildlife Management:
  26. History And Diplomatic Studies
  27. Hospitality And Tourism Management
  28. Hotel Management And Tourism
  29. Human Anatomy
  30. Human Physiology
  31. Industrial Chemistry
  32. Islamic Studies
  33. Law
  34. Library And Information Science
  35. Mathematics
  36. Medical Laboratory Science:
  37. Medicine And Surgery
  38. Microbiology
  39. Molecular Biology
  40. Philosophy
  41. Physical And Health Education
  42. Physics
  43. Physiotherapy
  44. Political Science
  45. Political Science
  46. Public Administration
  47. Sociology
  48. Statistics


Popular posts from this blog