Succession to the British throne


United Kingdom

The Sovereign's Throne in the House of Lords, from which the speech is delivered at the State Opening of Parliament with details of the list of successors to the British empire after the death of Queen Elizabeth II.

Current line of succession

1. William, Prince of Wales

2. Prince George of Wales

3. Princess Charlotte of Wales

4. Prince Louis of Wales

5. Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex

6. Archie Mountbatten-Windsor

Previous Successors to the British Throne

  • King George V (1865–1936)
  • King Edward VIII (1894–1972)
  • King George VI (1895–1952)
  • Queen Elizabeth II (1926–2022)
  • King Charles III (2022 -current)

Line of Succession to the British throne

(1) William, Prince of Wales (b. 1982) B D W

(2) Prince George of Wales (b. 2013) B D W

(3) Princess Charlotte of Wales (b. 2015) B D W

(4) Prince Louis of Wales (b. 2018) B D

(5) Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex (b. 1984) B D W

(6) Archie Mountbatten-Windsor (b. 2019) B D

(7) Lilibet Mountbatten-Windsor (b. 2021) B D

(8) Prince Andrew, Duke of York (b. 1960) B D W

(9) Princess Beatrice (b. 1988) B D W

(10) Sienna Mapelli Mozzi (b. 2021) B D

(11) Princess Eugenie (b. 1990) B D W

(12) August Brooksbank (b. 2021) B D

(13) Prince Edward, Earl of Wessex and Forfar (b. 1964) B D W

(14) James Mountbatten-Windsor, Viscount Severn (b. 2007) B D W

(15) Lady Louise Mountbatten-Windsor (b. 2003) B D W

(16) Anne, Princess Royal (b. 1950) 1952 B D W

(17) Peter Phillips (b. 1977) B D W

(18) Savannah Phillips (b. 2010) B D W

(19) Isla Phillips (b. 2012) B D W

(20) Zara Tindall (née Phillips; b. 1981) B D W

(21) Mia Tindall (b. 2014) B D W

(22) Lena Tindall (b. 2018) B D

(23) Lucas Tindall (b. 2021) B D

Princess Margaret, Countess of Snowdon (1930–2002) 1952

(24) David Armstrong-Jones, 2nd Earl of Snowdon (b. 1961) D W

(25) Charles Armstrong-Jones, Viscount Linley (b. 1999) D W

(26) Lady Margarita Armstrong-Jones (b. 2002) D W

(27) Lady Sarah Chatto (née Armstrong-Jones; b. 1964) D W

(28) Samuel Chatto (b. 1996) D W

(29) Arthur Chatto (b. 1999) D W

Prince Henry, Duke of Gloucester (1900–1974) 1952

Prince William of Gloucester (1941–1972) 1952

(30) Prince Richard, Duke of Gloucester (b. 1944) 1952 D W

(31) Alexander Windsor, Earl of Ulster (b. 1974) D W

(32) Xan Windsor, Lord Culloden (b. 2007) D W

(33) Lady Cosima Windsor (b. 2010) D W

(34) Lady Davina Windsor (b. 1977) D W

(35) Senna Lewis (b. 2010) D W

(36) Tāne Lewis (b. 2012) D W

(37) Lady Rose Gilman (née Windsor; b. 1980) D W

(38) Lyla Gilman (b. 2010) D W

(39) Rufus Gilman (b. 2012) D W

Prince George, Duke of Kent (1902–1942)

(40) Prince Edward, Duke of Kent (b. 1935) 1952 D W

(41) George Windsor, Earl of St Andrews (b. 1962) M D W

(42) Lady Amelia Windsor (b. 1995) D W

(43) Albert Windsor (b. 2007) X? D W [note 3]

(44) Leopold Windsor (b. 2009) X? D W [note 3]

(45) Louis Windsor (b. 2014) X? D W

(46) Lady Helen Taylor (née Windsor; b. 1964) D W

(47) Columbus Taylor (b. 1994) D W

(48) Cassius Taylor (b. 1996) D W

(49) Eloise Taylor (b. 2003) D W

(50) Estella Taylor (b. 2004) D W

(51) Prince Michael of Kent (b. 1942) 1952 M W

(52) Lord Frederick Windsor (b. 1979) W

(53) Maud Windsor (b. 2013) W

(54) Isabella Windsor (b. 2016)[5]

(55) Lady Gabriella Kingston (née Windsor; b. 1981) W

(56) Princess Alexandra, The Honourable Lady Ogilvy (b. 1936) 1952 W

(57) James Ogilvy (b. 1964) W

(58) Alexander Ogilvy (b. 1996) W

(59) Flora Vesterberg (née Ogilvy; b. 1994) W

(60) Marina Ogilvy (b. 1966) W

(61) Christian Mowatt (b. 1993) W

(62) Zenouska Mowatt (b. 1990) W.


Succession to the British throne is determined by descent, gender (for heirs born before 28 October 2011), legitimacy, and religion. Under common law, the Crown is inherited by a sovereign's children or by a childless sovereign's nearest collateral line.

The Bill of Rights 1689 and the Act of Settlement 1701 restrict succession to the throne to the legitimate Protestant descendants of Sophia of Hanover who are in "communion with the Church of England".[1] Spouses of Catholics were disqualified from 1689 until the law was amended in 2015. Protestant descendants of those excluded for being Roman Catholics are eligible.

King Charles III is the sovereign, and his heir apparent is his elder son, William, Prince of Wales. William's eldest son, Prince George, is second in line, followed by his sister, Princess Charlotte, and his younger brother, Prince Louis. Fifth in line is Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex, the younger son of the King, and sixth is Harry's elder child Archie Mountbatten-Windsor. Under the Perth Agreement, which came into effect in 2015, only the first six in line of succession require the sovereign's consent before they marry; without such consent, they and their children would be disqualified from succession.

The United Kingdom is one of the 15 Commonwealth realms. Each of those countries has the same person as monarch and the same order of succession.

FOB News