Abia State: History, Recruitment & Education

Abia state Nigeria

Abia State was created on the 27th of August 1991, during the minstry regime of  General Ibrahim Babangida. The State is located in the south-East geopolitical zone of Nigeria with 17 LGA.

Abia state was created out of Imo State, and the two sister states share boundaries with Umuahia as state capital.

Date created: 27 August 1991
Capital: Umuahia
LGAs: 17


Abia state Map

There are seventeen Local Government Areas in Abia State 

  • Aba North LGA
  • Aba South LGA
  • Arochukwu LGA
  • Bende LGA
  • Ikwuano LGA
  • Isiala Ngwa North LGA
  • Isiala Ngwa South LGA
  • Isuikwuato LGA
  • Obi Ngwa LGA
  • Ohafia LGA
  • Osisioma Ngwa LGA
  • Ugwunagbo LGA
  • Ukwa East LGA
  • Ukwa West LGA
  • Umuahia North LGA
  • Umuahia South LGA
  • Umu Nneochi LGA

List of Some Higher Institutions

  • Michael Okpara University of Agriculture
  • Abia State University
  • Gregory University
  • Rhema University
  • Clifford University
  • Rhema University
  • Gregory University
Abia state recruitment is serviced by the various ministries in the state with the approval of the Executive Governor. Visit the state website for the current ongoing recruitment.

FOB News