Borno State History, Recruitment & Education

Borno state was created in 1976 in North Eastern geopolitical zone of Nigeria comprising of  27 Local Government and social amenities.

History of Borno State

The name was coined from the historic emirate of Borno, with the emirate's old capital of Maiduguri serving as the capital city of Borno State. The state was formed in 1976 when the former North-Eastern State was broken up. It originally included the area that is now Yobe State, which became a distinct state in 1991

Borno State was created formed in February 3, 1976 by the Murtala Mohamed out of the then North-Eastern State. Until August 1991, it contained what is now Yobe State.  

It's capital is Maiduguri. Located in the North Eastern corner of Nigeria, Borno State occupies 70,898 square kilometres.

Local Government Areas

  1. Bama Local Government Area. ...
  2. Dikwa Local Government Area. ...
  3. Jere Local Government Area. ...
  4. Kala Balge Local Government Area. ...
  5. Konduga Local Government Area. ...
  6. Mafa Local Government Area. ...
  7. Maiduguri Local Government Area. ...
  8. Ngala Local Government Area.

Colleges and Universities

  • Abba Ashigar College of Business and Management Studies Konduga.
  • Agency for Mass Literacy.
  • Borno State Scholarship Board.
  • Borno State University.
  • Borno State Special School for Blind.
  • College of Education WAKA-BIU.
  • Kashim Ibrahim College of Education.