Lagos State: History, Recruitment & Education

The state of Lagos was declared a colony on 5 March 1862 when the Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria was established.

In 1914, Lagos was made the capital after the establishment of the colony and protectorate of Nigeria leading to the country's independence from Britain in 1960.

Lagos state is the centre of commerce and the highest source of revenue generation to the Nigeria government with a population of over 14 million people.

The state comprises of 20 local government areas with Ikeja as state  capital. List of LGA in Lagos State.


Some of the notable higher institutions in Lagos state include the following: 

  • Lagos State University, Ojo
  • University of Lagos
  • Yaba College of Technology
  • Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education
  • Anchor University
  • Augustine University
  • Caleb University
  • Federal College of Education Akoka
Lagos state


Prospective applicants can access job vacancies in Lagos state for federal/state establishments and the public sector.

The state has been governed by notable Nigerians; Bola Tinubu, Babatunde Fashola, Ambode Akinwunmi and Sanwo-Olu Babajide as civilian governors.