Nigeria Police Academy: History, Courses and Online Application

The Nigeria Police is the principal law enforcement and the lead security agency in Nigeria, designated as the national police of Nigeria with exclusive jurisdiction throughout the country according to the 1999 Constitution.

The Nigeria Police Force is a very large organisation consisting of 36 State commands grouped into 17 zones and 8 administrative organs. The agency is currently headed by IGP (Inspector General).

Nigeria Police Academy

History of Nigeria Police Force

Nigeria Police Force was first established in 1820. When the protectorates of Northern and Southern Nigeria were proclaimed in the early 1900s, part of the Royal Niger Company Constabulary became the Northern Nigeria Police, and part of the Niger Coast Constabulary became the Southern Nigeria Police.During the colonial period, most police were associated with local governments (native authorities). 

In the 1960s, under the First Republic, these forces were first regionalised and then nationalised. The Nigeria Police Force performed conventional police functions and was responsible for internal security generally; for supporting the prison, immigration, and customs services; and for performing military duties within or outside Nigeria as directed.

Departments and Operations

  1. Administration
  2. Anti-Fraud Section
  3. The Central Criminal Registry (CCR)
  4. Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS). The pressure group End SARS has criticised its activities.
  5. X-Squad
  6. General Investigation
  7. Special Fraud Unit (SFU)
  8. Legal Section
  9. Forensic Science Laboratory
  10. Interpol Liaison
  11. Homicide
  12. Anti-Human Trafficking Unit
  13. Force Intelligence Bureau (FIB)
  14. DCI Kaduna Annex
  15. Counter Terrorism Unit (CTU)

Courses / Departments in NPA

  • Biochemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Economics
  • Forensic Science
  • Mathematics
  • Physics

For more information, visit the official website to learn more about the Nigerian Police Academy.

FOB News