Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka History, Courses and Online Application

Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka is a leading federal university in Nigeria which was established in 1992 currently operating on 3 campuses, 14 faculties with over 80 degree awarding programmes.


Nnamdi Azikiwe University is founded on the philosophy that knowledge should be propagated and disseminated to individuals without let or hindrance. Teaching and Research would be anchored on the needs of the Nigerian and International society generally. Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe, after whom the University is named, stands out clearly in the history of University education in Nigeria and Africa in general. In the discharge of its mission, the University shall live up to the ideals of this renowned statesman, by making University education pragmatic, and using it to forge unity among the various communities in Nigeria and the International community.

Nnamdi Azikiwe University came into being as an offshoot of the defunct Anambra State University of Technology (ASUTECH). ASUTECH which was established through Law No. 7 of 30th July 1980 by the Government of the old Anambra operated as a multi-campus university, with campuses in Abakiliki, Enugu, Awka, and Nnewi.

In 1991, following the split of the old Anambra State into Anambra and Enugu States, the Awka and Nnewi campuses of the former ASUTECH were constituent into Nnamdi Azikiwe University by the Anambra State Edict No.5 of November 26, 1991. Nnamdi Azikiwe University was taken over by the Federal Government by Decree No. 34 of July 15, 1992. 

Objectives and Vision

– The establishment, organization and control of Campuses, Colleges, Faculties, Departments, Schools, Institutes and other teaching and research units of the University and allocation of responsibility for different branches of learning;

-The organization and control of courses of study at the University and of examinations held in conjunction with those courses, including the appointment of examiners both internal and external;

-The award of degrees and such other qualifications as may be prescribed in conjunction with examinations held as aforesaid.


UNIZIK Faculties

  1. Faculty of Agriculture
  2. Faculty of Arts
  3. Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences
  4. Faculty of Biosciences
  5. Faculty of Education
  6. Faculty of Engineering
  7. Faculty of Environmental Sciences
  8. Faculty of Health Sciences and Technology
  9. Faculty of Law
  10. Faculty of Management Sciences
  11. Faculty of Medicine
  12. Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  13. Faculty of Physical Sciences
  14. Faculty of Social Sciences


The main campus of the University is located Awka, second campus; Nnewi (NAUTH) and the third campus is at Agulu (Faculty of Pharmacy).

  • Awka Campus
  • Nnewi Campus
  • Oko-Ofia Premises
  • Agulu Premises
  • Ifite Ogwari Campus

Undergraduate Programme (Courses)

  1. Crop Science
  2. Agricultural Economics and Extension
  3. Food Science and Technology
  4. Animal Science
  5. Forestry and Wildlife
  6. Soil Science
  7. Igbo, African and Asian Studies
  8. English Language and Literature
  9. History and International Studies
  10. Linguistics
  11. Modem European Languages: French
  12. Music
  13. Philosophy
  14. Religion and Human Relations
  15. Theatre and Film Studies
  16. Applied Biochemistry
  17. Parasitology and Entomology
  18. Applied Microbiology and Brewing
  19. Botany
  20. Zoology
  21. Adult Education
    • -Accounting
    • -Economies
    • -Marketing
    • -Mass Communication
    • -Political Science
  22. Early Childhood and Primary Education
  23. Educational Foundations
  24. Fine and Applied Arts
  25. Education/History
  26. Education
    • -French
    • -lgbo
    • -Education/Music
    • -Education/Religion
    • -Education/Political Science
    • -Education/Economics
  27. Education Management and Policy
    • -Geography
    • -Health Science
    • -Political Science
  28. Guidance and Counselling
  29. Economics
  30. Health Science
  31. Biology
  32. Human Kinetics and Health Education
  33. Library and lnformation Science
    • -Science Education
    • -Biology
    • -Chemistry
    • -Computer Science
    • -Integrated Science
    • -Mathematics
    • -Physics
  34. Vocational Education
    • -Business Education
    • -Accounting
    • -Commerce/Cooperative
    • -Secretarial Technology
    • -Technical Education
    • -Building and Wood Work Technology
    • -Electrical and Electronic Technology
    • -Auto Mechanical Technology
  35. Industrial/Production Engineering
  36. Mechanical Engineering
  37. Electrical/Electronics Engineering
  38. Architecture
  39. Building
  40. Environmental Management
  41. Estate Management
  42. Fine and Applied Arts
  43. Geography and Meteorology
  44. Medicine and Surgery
  45. Pharmacy
  46. Microbiology
  47. Biochemistry
  48. Computer Science
  49. Law
  50. Accounting
  51. Banking and Finance

Online Applications

Applicants can visit the university website for online registration either for first degree programme or postgraduate studies. Available vacancies are always published on the university website for the awareness of the general public. Post-utme candidates can register online using their JAMB  and personal credentials as well as CEP programme.

FOB News


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from Felix Omoko's Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading