Osun State: History, Recruitment & Education

Osun state was created in 1991 part of Oyo state, located in South west geo-political zone of Nigeria comprising of 30 LGAs.

Osogbo is the capital city of Osun state.

It is bounded by the states of Kwara on the northeast, Ekiti and Ondo on the east, Ogun on the south, and Oyo on the west and northwest. The Yoruba Hills run through the northern part of Osun state.

Osun State is primarily inhabited by the Yoruba people, mainly of the Ibolo, Ifẹ, Igbomina, Ijesha, and Oyo subgroups.

Local Government Areas
There are 30 local government areas in the state. Full list here.
Educational Institutions

  • Adeleke University, Ede.
  • Bowen University, Iwo.
  • Fountain Unveristy, Oshogbo.
  • Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji.
  • Kings University, Ode Omu.
  • Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State.
  • Redeemer’s University, Ede.
  • Westland University Iwo, Osun State.
  • Osun state Nigeria


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from Felix Omoko's Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading