Plateau State (Jos) History, Recruitment & Education

Plateau state was created in 1975 consisting of 17 LGAs and Jos the state capital in North-Central geopolitical zone of Nigeria.

In 1926, Plateau Province, made up of Jos and Pankshin Divisions, was carved out of Bauchi. The border changed several times in subsequent years as the government sought not to split ethnic groups.

In May 1967, Benue and Plateau Provinces were merged to form the large Benue-Plateau State.

Jos is still often referred to as “Tin City”. It was made capital of Benue-Plateau State in 1967,  and became the capital of the new Plateau State in 1975. Jos has become an important national administrative, commercial, and tourist centre.

Some of the indigenous tribes in the state include the Berom, Afizere, Amo, Anaguta, Aten, Bogghom, Buji, Challa, Chip, Fier, Gashish, Goemai, Irigwe, Jarawa, Jukun, Kofyar (comprising Doemak, Kwalla, and Mernyang). 

Others are Montol, Mushere, Mupun, Mwaghavul, Ngas, Piapung, Pyem, Ron-Kulere, Bache, Talet, Taroh (Tarok), Youm.

Local Government Areas – List

  1. Barkin Ladi
  2. Bassa
  3. Bokkos
  4. Jos East
  5. Jos North
  6. Jos South
  7. Kanam
  8. Kanke
  9. Langtang North
  10. Langtang South
  11. Mangu
  12. Mikang
  13. Pankshin
  14. Qua’an Pan
  15. Riyom
  16. Shendam
  17. Wase

Colleges and Universities

  • FCVMLT. FCVMLT, Vom, Plateau State Nigeria
  • University of Jos, Plateau State Nigeria
  • Federal College of Education, Pankshin Plateau State
  • Plateau State University

FOB News


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *