Rivers State History, Recruitment & Education

Rivers State is a leading oil producing state located in the south-south oil region of Nigeria comprising of 23 LGAs. Its capital city is Port Harcourt.

Rivers state was named after the many rivers that border its territory was part of the Oil Rivers Protectorate from 1885 till 1893 when it became part of the Niger Coast Protectorate. 

In 1900, the region was merged with the chartered territories of the Royal Niger Company to form the colony of Southern Nigeria.

Major ethnic groups in the state are Ogoni, Ijaw and Ikwerre. Upland Rivers State covering about 45% is composed mainly of Ogoni and Ikwerre. The riverine, including most of the state's towns and villages surrounded by water is moderately inhabited.

Local Government Areas: List of LGA in Rivers State

  1. Abua-Odual
  2. Ahoada East
  3. Ahoada West
  4. Akuku Toru
  5. Andoni
  6. Asari-Toru
  7. Bonny
  8. Degema
  9. Emohua
  10. Eleme
  11. Etche
  12. Gokana
  13. Ikwerre
  14. Khana
  15. Obio-Akpor
  16. Ogba-Egbema-Ndoni
  17. Ogu-Bolo
  18. Okrika
  19. Omumma
  20. Opobo-Nkoro
  21. Oyigbo
  22. Port Harcourt
  23. Tai

Tertiary institutions in Rivers State include University of Port Harcourt, Rivers State University of Science and Technology and others.

Rivers state


Prospective applicants seeking employment opportunities in the state civil service commission or in any of its agencies to submit online application to the state database for upward review and considerations.

FOB News


Popular posts from this blog