Bayelsa State History, Politics, Recruitment & Education

Bayelsa state was created in 1996 out of Rivers state comprising of 9 LGAs by the Sani Abacha's military government. It's capital is Yenagoa.

History of Bayelsa State

"Bayelsa State was created on October 1, 1996 out of the old Rivers State by the then regime of General Sani Abacha. The name, Bayelsa, is an acronym of three former Local Government areas Brass, Yenagoa and Sagbama in the then Rivers State, which had earlier on comprised the entire area now constituting Bayelsa State."

"Its name was coined from the first few letters of the names of the major local government areas from which it was formed: Brass LGA (BALGA), Yenagoa LGA (YELGA) and Sagbama LGA (SALGA)."

Local Government Areas

LGAs in Bayelsa state include Ekeremor, Kolokuma/Opokuma, Yenagoa, Nembe, Ogbia, Sagbama, Brass and Southern Ijaw. The state shares borders with Rivers State, of which it was formerly part, and Delta State. LGAs in Bayelsa State

Ijaw, language is widely spoken in Bayelsa State also Isoko and Urhobo speak within their ancestral towns in the state. 

Tertiary Institutions

  • Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa
  • Niger Delta University Yenagoa
  • University of Africa Toru Orua, Bayelsa State
  • Bayelsa Medical University

Bayelsa city