Cross River State (Calabar) History, Recruitment, Politics & Education

Cross River State is a southern state created in 1967 out of the former eastern region and Calabar is its capital comprising of 18 LGAs.


The South-South State was created on 27 May 1967 from the former Eastern Region, Nigeria by the General Yakubu Gowon regime. Its name was changed to Cross River State in the 1976 state creation exercise by the then General Murtala Mohammed regime from South Eastern State.

The State is composed of several ethnic groups, which include the Efik, the Ejagham, Yakurr, Bahumono, Bette, Yala, Igede, Ukelle and the Bekwarra among others. There are four major languages spoken in the state: French, Efik, Bekwarra, and Ejagham.

Local Government Areas

There are 18 LGAs in Cross River state. Full List.

Colleges and Universities

  • Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo
  • Havilla University, Nde-Ikom
  • Cross River State University of Technology, Calabar
  • University of Calabar
Cross River State

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from Felix Omoko's Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading