Enugu State History, Recruitment, Politics & Education

Enugu state is a Nigerian eastern state created in 1967 comprising of 14 LGAs. Its capital is Enugu, the coal city state.

Historical Background

Enugu became a municipality in 1956 with Umaru Altine its first mayor. After four years passed, Nigeria gained its independence in 1960. On 27 May 1967 the Nigerian government divided the Western, Northern and Eastern Region into 12 states and Enugu was made the capital of the new East Central State.

Conformably, its name consists out of the 2 words 'Enu' (top) and 'Ugwu' (hill) resulting to 'top of the hill'. 

Enugu was founded in 1909, when Mr. Kikson, a British Mining Engineer, stumbled on large coal reserves in the Udi ridge while looking for silver.

Colleges and Universities

  • Caritas University
  • Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike
  • Renaissance University
  • Coal City University
  • The University of Nigeria, Nsukka UNN

Igbo is predominantly spoken in Abia, Imo, Enugu, Anambra, Ebonyi and parts of Rivers and Delta states. Speaking English, you can get by in most parts of Igboland, though in some very remote areas, only Igbo is understood.

Enugu rural areas consist of 14 local government areas (LGAs) -Aninri, Awgu, Ezeagu, Igbo-etiti, Igboeze north, Igboeze south, Isi uzo, Nkanu east, Nkanu west, Nsukka, Oji river, Udenu, Udi, and Uzo uwani.


Find details of the state recruitment agency and submit your online application to the state database for upward review and consideration.

Enugu State Nigeria