FCT Abuja History, Recruitment, Politics & Education

FCT, Nigeria's Federal Capital Territory is the seat of power located at Abuja consisting of 6 area councils.


The land now called Abuja was originally the south-western part of the ancient Habe (Hausa) kingdom of Zazzau (Zaria). It was populated fore centuries by several semi-independent tribes. The largest of the tribes is Gbagyi (Gwari), followed by the Koro and a few other smaller tribes.

The indigenous inhabitants of Abuja are the Gbagyi (Gwari), with the Gbagyi language formerly being the major language of the region. Other groups in the area include the Bassa, Gwandara, Gade, Dibo, Nupe and Koro.

FCT Area Councils

The Federal Capital Territory consists of 6 different Area Councils: Abaji, Abuja Municipal, Bwari, Gwagwalada, Kuje and Kwali.

  1. Abaji.
  2. Abuja.
  3. Bwari.
  4. Gwagwalada.
  5. Kuje.
  6. Kwali.


  • African University of Science and Technology
  • Baze University, Abuja
  • National Open University, Abuja
  • Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja
  • Veritas University, Abuja

FCT Abuja

Abuja, the capital city is the centre of political affairs and administration in Nigeria, housing all government and private sectors headquarters with a population of over 3 million people.

FOB News