Kwara State (Ilorin) History, Recruitment, Politics & Education

Kwara state, the land of harmony was created in 1967 comprising of 16 LGAs and it's located in North Central Nigeria. Its capital is Ilorin.

Historical Facts

Kwara state was created on 27 May 1967, when the Federal Military Government of General Yakubu Gowon broke the four regions that then constituted the Federation of Nigeria into 12 states.

Five languages are spoken in Kwara. The main languages indigenous to Kwara are Yoruba, Hausa, Tapa,Ebira and Bariba. Four(4) languages thus ;Yoruba majorly ,then Nupe,Bariba and Fulani minorities. 

Local Government Areas

View list of the 16 LGAs in the state.

Colleges and Universities

  • Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin
  • Landmark University, Omu-Aran
  • Summit University
  • Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State
  • Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese, Kwara State
  • Ahman Pategi University, Kwara State
  • University of Offa, Kwara State

Kwara State Nigeria