Nasarawa State (Lafia) History, Recruitment, Politics & Education

Nasarawa state is a Nigeria state created in 1996 comprising of 14 LGAs and it is located in North Central geopolitical zone. Its capital is Lafia.

Nasarawa state has population of about 5 million people (2021 estimation) with much concentration  in Karu, Lafia and Keffi areas.

Historical Facts

Nasarawa was founded in about 1838 in the Afo (Afao) tribal territory by Umaru, a dissident official from the nearby town of Keffi, as the seat of the new emirate of Nassarawa. 

Umaru expanded his domain by conquering neighbouring territory and made Nassarawa a vassal state to Zaria (175 miles [282 km] north).

Nasarawa state was established on 1 October 1996 by the Sani Abacha military era, splitting it from the neighboring Plateau state

Ethnic Groups

They are Aguta, Alago, Basa, Ebira, Eggon, Gbagyi, Gwandara, Kanuri and Tiv. Others are Ham, Kofyar, and Lijili.

Major Cities

Thee major cities in the state are Lafia, Keffi and Karu areas of the state. Lafia serving as the state capital. Keffi playhost to the state university (NSUK) and other government functionaries and then, Karu having a massive influx due its proximity the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja. 

Karu shares boundary with Nyanya Abuja, one the three major entrance to the city of Abuja.

Colleges and Universities
  • College of Agriculture. Jos Road, Lafia, Nasarawa Nigeria
  • Federal Polytechnic Nasarawa
  • Federal University Lafia
  • College of Heath and Technology, Keffi
  • Mewa University of Nigeria, Masaka
  • Nasarawa State College of Education, Akwanga
Local Government Areas

1. Akwanga
2. Awe
3. Doma
4. Karu
5. Keana
6. Keffi
7. Kokona
8. Lafia
9. Nasarawa
10. Nasarawa Egon
11. Obi
12. Toto
13. Wamba


Visit the Nasarawa State recruitment portal for online application process and follow all guidelines, showing the available vacancies in both ministries and agencies.

Nasarawa State Nigeria


Popular posts from this blog