Ogun State (Abeokuta) History, Recruitment, Politics & Education

Ogun state is South western Nigerian state created in 1976 comprising of 19 LGAs with population of about 6 million people. Its capital is Abeokuta.

Historical Facts

"Ogun, state, western Nigeria, created in 1976 and comprising former Abeokuta and Ijebu provinces of former Western state, the latter carved out of former Western region in 1967."

"The state is bounded by Oyo and Osun states to the north, Lagos state to the south, Ondo state to the east, and the Republic of Benin to the west."

"Ogun State was created in 1976. It was carved out from the old Western State of Nigeria and it is named after the Ogun River which runs across it from north to south. Ogun State comprised of former Abeokuta and Ijebu provinces of former Western state."

Ogun state has six major ethnic groups: the Egba, the Ijebu, the Remo, the Egbado, the Awori and the Egun. There are also sub-groups like the Ikale, Ketu, Ohori and Anago.

Local Government Areas

There are 19 LGAs in Ogun State. Full list
Colleges and Universities

  • Babcock University, Ilisan Remo
  • Bells University of Technology, Ota
  • Chrisland University, Abeokuta
  • Covenant University, Ota[2]
  • Crawford University, Igbesa
  • Crescent University, Abeokuta
  • Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro
  • Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta[3]
  • McPherson University, Seriki-Sotayo[4]
  • Moshood Abiola Polytechnic
  • Mountain Top University, Lagos-Ibadan Expressway, Nigeria
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University
  • Tai Solarin University of Education 
Ogun state Nigeria

 FOB News


Popular posts from this blog