South America Continent History, Features and Countries

The South America continent consists of 14  member countries and it is the fourth largest continent with an area of 17,840,000

FOB News in this article enlist the features and the 14 member countries located in South America.

South America, fourth largest of the world’s continents. It is the southern portion of the landmass generally referred to as the New World, the Western Hemisphere, or simply the Americas. The continent is compact and roughly triangular in shape, being broad in the north and tapering to a point—Cape Horn, Chile—in the south.

Key Facts

South America has a total area of about 6,878,000 square miles (17,814,000 square km) of the land surface of Earth. 

Some of the climatic features include The Pacific and Atlantic subtropical high, The Gran Chaco thermal low, The South Atlantic Convergence Zone (SACZ),  Polar outbreaks, Low Level Jet (LLJ), Westerlies, The Bolivian High and The Madden–Julian oscillation (MJO)

List of South America Countries

There are 14 member countries in South America continent.
  1. Brazil
  2. Colombia
  3. Argentina
  4. Peru
  5. Venezuela
  6. Chile
  7. Ecuador
  8. Bolivia
  9. Paraguay
  10. Uruguay
  11. Guyana
  12. Suriname
  13. French Guiana
  14. Falkland Islands
South America


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from Felix Omoko's Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading