Happy Democracy Day - June 12


Nigerians are celebrating Democracy Day of their journey from military to civilian rule which is being celebrated every June 12.

Democracy Day in Nigeria was formally handed over to us on May 29, 1999, which was first fought for by the Late MKO Abiola, the presumed winner of the annulled 1993 presidential election.

In his first democracy day speech, President Bola Ahmed Tinubu enjoined us to uphold the tenets of the rule of law, on which our Democracy stands.

The President also assured Nigerians of his administration commitment to bring more dividend of democracy for everyone to enjoy.

For the past 24 years, Nigerians have experience successful transition of government from one elected to another with much regard to the rule of law, the custodian of our democracy.

Since 1999, the country has witness the administration of the following presidents; Olusegun Obasanjo(1999 - 2007), Umaru Musa Yar'Adua (2007-2010), Goodluck Jonathan (2010 - 2015), Muhammadu Buhari (2015 - 2023), Bola Ahmed Tinubu (2023 - incumbent).

Once more, Happy Democracy Day Nigerians!