President Tinubu to Address the Nation on Democracy Day - June 12

Felix Omoko

Nigerian President, Bola Ahmed Tinubu will address the nation on Monday 12 June to marks the country 24 years of civilian rule.

Nigeria will be marking 24 years of civilian rule from 1999 and successful transition of government till date.

The nationwide broadcast will be transmitted live via all televisions and radio stations, including social media channels.

Nigerians are directed to tune in on Monday June 12 as Mr. President addresses the Nation.

Since 1999, Nigeria has been governed by five Presidents, Olusegun Obasanjo, Umaru Musa Yar'Adua, Goodluck Jonathan, Muhammadu Buhari and Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

Nigeria as experienced incremental growth within this phase of civilian rule and a lot is yet to be done.

Recall that Democracy was actually being celebrated every May 29, but changed to June 12 by the Buhari's administration as a public holiday, in recognition of the annulled June 12 Presidential election.