University of Ibadan: History, Courses & Applications

UI Logo

The University of Ibadan, UI is the foremost university in Nigeria offering over 100 degrees awarding courses as approved by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

Establishment: 1948

Motto: “Recte Sapere Fons” (To think straight is the fount of knowledge).

Chancellor: Saad Abubakar, Sultan of Sokoto

Location: Ibadan, Oyo, Nigeria


History of the University

The origin of the university are in the University of London. UI was established in 1948 as the University College Ibadan, as a College of the University of London, which supervised its academic programmes and awarded degrees until 1967. 

The establishment came as a result of recommendation of the Asquith and the Elliot Commissions on Higher Education in the then British colonies, that two University Colleges of the University of London be set up in Ghana and Nigeria. Prior to 1948, Yaba College had been founded in 1932 in Yaba, Lagos, as the first tertiary educational institute in Nigeria, focused primarily on providing post-secondary vocational education and teacher training to Africans. 

In 1948, staff and students from Yaba Higher College were transferred to Ibadan to form the new University College Ibadan.

The university college started on 18 January 1948. The sod of its permanent site was cut on 17 November 1948 and became a full-fledged independent university in early 1963.

In late 1963, on the university playing-fields, with a celebration marked by talking drums, the Rt. Hon. Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, first Prime Minister of independent Nigeria, became the first Chancellor of its independent university. The first Nigerian vice-chancellor of the university was Kenneth Dike, after whom the university library is named.

Background to Degree Awarding

At the time of its establishment as University College Ibadan, students were awarded degrees of the University of London. That makes it the first degree-awarding institution in Nigeria.

The institution became autonomous in 1963 and started awarding its own degrees in 1967, unlike the University of Nigeria Nsukka, which started the same three years earlier.

Approves Courses / Departments
  1. Adult Education
  2. Agricultural and Environmental Engineering
  3. Agricultural Economics
  4. Agricultural Extension and Rural Development
  5. Agriculture
  6. Agronomy
  7. Animal Science
  8. Anthropology
  9. Anthropology (Biological)
  10. Aquaculture and Fisheries Management
  11. Aquaculture and Fisheries Management
  12. Arabic Language and Literature
  13. Archaeology
  14. Archaeology
  15. Archaeology (Single Honour)
  16. Architecture
  17. Biochemistry
  18. Botany
  19. Botany and Microbiology
  20. Chemistry
  21. Civil Engineering
  22. Classical Studies
  23. Communication and Language Arts
  24. Computer Science
  25. Dentistry And Dental Surgery
  26. Dentistry and Dental Technology
  27. Early Childhood Education
  28. Eco-Tourism and Wildlife Management
  29. Economics
  30. Education and Arabic
  31. Education and Biology
  32. Education and Chemistry
  33. Education and Economics
  34. Education and English Language
  35. Education and French
  36. Education and Geography
  37. Education and History
  38. Education and Islamic Studies
  39. Education and Mathematics
  40. Education and Physics
  41. Education and Political Science
  42. Education and Religious Studies
  43. Education and Yoruba
  44. Educational Management
  45. Electrical / Electronic Engineering
  46. English Language and Literature
  47. Estate Management
  48. Fisheries
  49. Food Technology
  50. Forestry / Forest Resources Management
  51. French
  52. Geography
  53. Geography
  54. Geology
  55. German
  56. German Combined with French, Russian
  57. Guidance and Counseling
  58. Health Education
  59. History
  60. Human Kinetics
  61. Human Nutrition and Dietetics
  62. Igbo
  63. Industrial Chemistry
  64. Industrial Production Engineering
  65. International Relations
  66. Islamic Studies
  67. Law
  68. Library and Information Science
  69. Linguistics
  70. Linguistics / Yoruba
  71. Mechanical Engineering
  72. Medical Laboratory Science
  73. Medicine and Surgery
  74. Microbiology
  75. Music
  76. Nursing / Nursing Science
  77. Pharmacy
  78. Philosophy
  79. Physics
  80. Physiology
  81. Physiotherapy
  82. Political Science
  83. Psychology
  84. Religious Studies
  85. Russian with French / German
  86. Russian
  87. Sociology
  88. Special Education
  89. Statistics
  90. Teacher Education Science
  91. Theatre Arts
  92. Urban and Regional Planning
  93. Veterinary Medicine
  94. Wildlife Management
  95. Wood Product Engineering
  96. Yoruba
  97. Zoology
  98. Environmental Health Science
  99. Communication And Language Arts Education


  1. Institutes of African Studies
  2. Institute of Child Health
  3. Institute of Education
  4. Advanced Medical Research and Training
  5. Institute for Peace and Strategic Studies
  6. LES Institute of PAU
  7. Centres of excellence
  8. Centre For Excellence In Teaching & Learning]
  9. Centre for Child & Adolescent Mental Health
  10. Centre for Control & Prevention of Zoonoses
  11. Center for Drug Discovery, Development and Production (CDDDP)

UI Affiliate Institutions
  • Bigard Seminary, Enugu, Enugu, State
  • Archbishop Vining College of Theology, Akure
  • St Augustine’s College of Education Akoka, Lagos
  • Osun State College of Education, Ilesa
  • Federal College of Education, Osiele, Abeokuta, Ogun State.
  • Federal College of Education (Special), Oyo, Oyo State.
  • SS Peter And Paul Seminary, Bodija, Ibadan
  • Immanuel College of Theology and Christian Education, Samonda, Ibadan
  • Dominican Institute, Samonda, Ibadan
  • ECWA Theological Seminary, Igbaja
  • Nigeria Baptist Theological Seminary, Ogbomoso
  • Life Seminary, Ikorodu
  • Redeemed Bible College
  • UMCA Seminary, Ilorin, Kwara
  • Michael Otedola College of Primary Education, Epe Lagos State

Politics | Entertainment | Education | Religion | Recruitment | Biography | News


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *