History of ECOWAS

ECOWAS Secretariat

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) was created on 28 May 1975 as a regional intergovernmental organization in Africa.

ECOWAS was formed by the following fifteen (15) member States: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

ECOWAS headquarters is located in Asokoro Abuja, Nigeria and its official working languages are: English, French and Portuguese.

The secretariat of the Economic Community of West African States is located at No. 101 Yakubu Gowon Crescent Asokoro, Abuja Nigeria.


Members States
  1. Benin
  2. Burkina Faso
  3. Cabo Verde
  4. Côte d’Ivoire
  5. The Gambia
  6. Ghana
  7. Guinea
  8. Guinea Bissau
  9. Liberia
  10. Mali
  11. Niger
  12. Nigeria
  13. Senegal
  14. Sierra Leone
  15. Togo

Politics | Entertainment | Education | Religion | Recruitment | Biography | News


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from Felix Omoko's Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading